Legacy Administrator Dashboard

The Okta legacy Administrator Dashboard summarizes app usage and org activity and notifies you of any problems or outstanding work to be completed. The side bar provides shortcuts to the most commonly performed tasks.

Note

Super admins can enable Admin Experience Redesign by clicking Turn on the new experience from the Admin Dashboard. The new Admin Console offers an enhanced, modernized user experience (UX) with a more responsive navigation. See Admin Experience Redesign.

 

Contents of the Okta Admin Dashboard

Status Notification inbox that displays a list of past actions and tasks to be completed. Also includes search for people and applications.
Usage

Displays usage and app statistics for an org. Expand this section to view most frequently used apps and a list of most active users. Note the following:

  • The admin dashboard counts unique logins per user in Okta.
  • The sidebar in the app usage report counts unique logins per seat or account in the third-party application.

As a result, the unique count in the sidebar app usage report could be higher than the dashboard count if one person has multiple accounts in a third-party application.

Recent Administrative Activity Displays select events from the System Log, such as app configuration or assignment information. Click on the System Log shortcut to view everything in the System Log.
Security Tips Displays a checklist of security features that Okta recommends enabling in order to improve the security posture of your org.

These settings may also be configured by navigating to SecurityGeneral.

For more information, see HealthInsight.

Shortcuts Links to frequently used tasks.
Reports Links to each of your reports.

 

Tasks Page

The Tasks Page provides detail about the tasks listed in the Status section of the Dashboard page.

If you have a large number of deprovisioning tasks, timeouts might occur when you try to load the Tasks page. Make sure you regularly mark these tasks as completed. You can either select Mark All Complete on the Tasks page or select the Application accounts need deprovisioning link and mark specified tasks as complete. If you do not want deprovisioning task alerts to appear on this page, select Don’t create deprovisioning tasks on the Tasks page.

Tasks are created during group app assignments and individual app assignments. You can convert a group assignment task to an individual assignment; however, the conversion is permanent, as you cannot convert an individual assignment to a group assignment. This conversion is useful if you make a change to the task that a future change to the group could override.

Info

Note

  • Marking tasks complete processes the tasks on the jobapp servers, so if you are processing a large number, we recommend doing so during off-peak hours.
  • If a user is missing a required attribute that is needed for an application to be assigned, the application will not be assigned at all. In this case the application will not show up in the application in the User Profile page and a task is created on the dashboard. If a provisioning error occurs for an application, the application is still assigned to users, but an error task/warning is displayed in the application list in the User Profile page.

 

Notifications Page

You can create custom notifications to send to your end users. From this page you can view all custom notifications you have already sent, delete messages, and create new custom notifications.

End-user Notifications Overview

Okta provides end users with the following two types of notifications:

    • New app assignments: These are sent automatically whenever a user is assigned a new app. These are one-time messages; once a user closes the Notification box, the new app assignment message is removed.
    • Custom notifications sent by an administrator: The administrator creates and manages these notifications.

Viewing the Notifications

For all new messages, the Notifications dialog automatically launches as soon as end users launch their Home pages. This ensures the end user is immediately aware there is at least one new message. End users can subsequently close the dialog and reopen it at any time to review earlier messages.

To view previously viewed notifications, end users click the Notifications icon to open the Notifications.

End-user Notifications Actions

Delete a notification: Select the delete (X) icon adjacent to the message you want to delete. A Delete Message confirmation dialog opens.

Create a new notification: Select Send New Message and enter the message you want to send in the new notification dialog that opens. Messages cannot exceed 150 characters. To send the message to all the end users in your org and track the message in the admin's Notifications list, click Send to Everyone.

Getting Started

Only super admins can view the Getting Started page because the tasks on that page require Super admin permission. New admins can view the Getting Started with Okta page to learn the basics, build up their organization, and explore more Okta features. Getting Started with Okta is a useful route for setting up your Okta integration. An icon displays when you have completed an important setup task. For details, see Get started with Okta