Activate and deactivate users

Activate end user accounts

Activate end user accounts to change the account status from Staged, Suspended, or Deactivated to Active. When you activate an end user account, an email notification is sent to the end user's primary or secondary email address informing them that their account is active. Included with the email notification are instructions for setting up their account in your orgThe Okta container that represents a real-world organization.. After you activate an end user account, the end user can access all provisioned applications assigned to them.

The left column of the People page lets you to filter your end user list by account status.

Activate individual users

If the end user account status is Staged, click Activate in the Status column to activate the account.

If the end user account status is Suspended or Deactivated, select the user and click Activate in the end user's profile page.

Activate batches of users

  1. Go to Directory > People > More Actions > Activate.
  2. Optional. Select Show deactivated users.
  3. Click Activate All, or select specific users and click Activate Selected.
  4. When the Activate People dialog appears, click Activate to activate the end usersIn Okta literature, we generally refer to "end users" as the people who have their own Okta home page (My Applications), using apps to authenticate into all of their apps. End users do not have any administrative control. When we refer to "users" we are generally referring to the individual(s) who have administrative control..

Deactivate and delete users

Deactivating end user accounts changes their account status from Active to Deactivated. Deactivated end user accounts are removed from their provisioned applications. If you reactivate previously deactivated end user accounts, you need to reassign their apps. Deactivation runs as a background task, and depending on the number of users being deactivated, can take significant time to complete. You can perform multiple deactivation requests at the same time. During deactivation, notifications appear indicating the progress of all deactivation requests. A notification appears when each deactivation request completes successfully.

  1. Go to Directory > People > More Actions > Deactivate.

  2. Select the end user accounts to deactivate, and then click Deactivate Selected.

  3. In the Deactivate People dialog, click Deactivate.

An email listing all users deactivated in the past 30 minutes is sent to admins. After you deactivate an end user account, you cannot make changes to it. To make changes to a deactivated end user account, you need to reactivate it.

Permanently delete an end user account

To permanently delete a deactivated end user account, select the user, click Delete, and then click Delete in the Delete Person dialog. You cannot undo this deletion. After the deletion, the user is not visible on the People page and is not returned in API responses. However, any log entries that reference the user are maintained. After deletion you can reuse the user name and other identifiers.

Note: You cannot delete a user that is set as the technical or billing contact.

Top