Import users from an app

When you import users into your orgThe Okta container that represents a real-world organization. from an appAn abbreviation of application. Essentially, it is a web-based site used to perform any number of specific tasks, and requires authentication from end users by signing in., you have control over when the import is scheduled, how the imported users are confirmed, and how the application fields are mapped to an Okta username.

You can also import users into your org with a CSV file. Refer to Import users from a CSV file.

To import users from an app, do the following:

  1. In the AdminAn abbreviation of administrator. This is the individual(s) who have access to the Okta Administrator Dashboard. They control the provisioning and deprovisioning of end users, the assigning of apps, the resetting of passwords, and the overall end user experience. Only administrators have the Administration button on the upper right side of the My Applications page. Console, go to Applications > Applications, and select the app from which you want to import users.
  2. Click Import Now.
  3. Your users are imported and a summary of the number of users and groupsGroups allow you to organize your end users and the apps they can access. Assigning apps to large sets of end users is made easier with groups. imported appears.

Importing users when provisioning an app

ProvisioningProvisioning is the enterprise-wide configuration, deployment, and management of multiple types of IT system resources. Specifically, provisioning provides users access to equipment, software, or services. This involves creating, maintaining and deactivating required business process automation objects and attributes in systems, directories, and applications. must be enabled to use the following features. To enable provisioning, do the following:

  1. In the Admin Console, go to Applications > Applications, and click the application you want to configure.
  2. Click the Provisioning tab. If no Provisioning tab appears, the app is not provisioning enabled.
  3. From the left-side panel under Settings, chose To Okta. This screen contains settings for all information that flows from the app to Okta.
  4. Click the adjacent Edit buttons to make changes in the following sections.

Clearing unconfirmed users

During standard imports, users are sometimes mistakenly imported from a 3rd-party app such as Active DirectoryActive Directory (AD) is a directory service that Microsoft developed for the Windows domain networks. It is included in most Windows Server operating systems as a set of processes and services. Initially, Active Directory was only in charge of centralized domain management. (AD), Workday, or through a manual CSV import. This can lead to conflicted users within the import queue. Previously, there was no way to remove these unconfirmed users.

The Clear Unconfirmed Users button allows admins to clear all unconfirmed users within an import queue. This feature is supported for profile masters such as AD, LDAPLightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) is a lightweight client-server protocol for accessing directory services, specifically X.500-based directory services. LDAP runs over TCP/IP or other connection oriented transfer services., Workday, SuccessFactors, BambooHR, Namely, and Ultipro, as well as provisioning apps that support imports, such as Zendesk. This operation only works with a single application, and will not affect other apps that have users in the staging phase.

Configuration

  1. In the Admin Console, go to Applications > Applications.
  2. On the Applications page, select a provisioning-enabled app.
  3. Click the Import tab.
  4. If there are unconfirmed users within the import queue, clear them by clicking Clear Unconfirmed Users.

  1. A confirmation screen appears with the current tally of unconfirmed users. Click Clear Import Results to confirm.

Known Issue

It is not possible to select and remove specific users at this time. The only option is to clear all users. If an admin mistakenly clears all users from the queue, they can rerun a full import to restore the queue back to its prior state. To restore the import queue, an incremental import will not suffice—a full import is required.

Also note that, if an existing (scheduled or manual) import is actively running, admins cannot clear users. The Clear Unconfirmed Users button is grayed out until that previous import is complete. If a scheduled or manual import is started during a clearing process, it is queued up to begin as soon as the previous operation completes.

Top