Delete a user type

Delete a user type when it's no longer required. A user type can only be deleted when there are no users assigned to it. If there are users associated with the user type when you try to delete it, you'll see a warning that they must be deleted first.

Users can be deleted in Directory > People. You will have to manually deactivate and then delete each user.

Info

Important

  • Deleting a user type cannot be undone.
  • The default Okta user type cannot be deleted.
  1. In the Admin Console, go to Directory > Profile Editor.
  2. Select the Okta user type you want to delete and click Profile.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Click Delete to confirm.