Name a flow version

Add a name and description to a version, update an existing name or description, or remove a name to revert the version to standard retention.

Before you begin

  • You have edit access to the flow.
  1. In the Workflows Console, open the flow that you want to modify.
  2. Click the Version History tab.
  3. On the Version history panel, find the version of the flow that you want to name.
  4. Click its action menu and select Edit.
  5. Enter a name and optional description, and then click Save.
    You can use a name with up to 40 characters, and a description with up to 120 characters.
    The version appears in the Version history panel with the name as its primary label. The time stamp, version number, and description appear below the name.
  6. To remove a name from the version, clear all text from the Version name field.
    An error message appears: "Version name can't be left blank. Enter a new custom name or revert to the unnamed version."
    1. Click Revert to unnamed version.
    2. In the confirmation dialog, click Confirm.
      The version reverts to displaying its time stamp as its primary label and is now subject to standard 30-day retention from its original creation date.

For information about how naming a version affects retention, see Workflows version history.