View devices

In the Admin Console, go to Directory > Devices to view information about devices that are registered in your organization.

By default, all registered devices are included in the devices summary. For each device, the following information is displayed:

  • The device name, which is also an active link to the device details for the device.

  • The email address of the user that is enrolled on the device, or the total number of user profiles associated with the device if more than one user is enrolled on the device.

  • The device operating system and device identifier. For example, the device identifier for iOS or macOS is the Unique Device Identifier (UDID). For Windows, the device identifier is the Security identifier (SID) attribute.

  • The current status for the device—Active, Suspended, or Deactivated—and whether the user profile is Managed or Not managed. A user can have more than one user profile on a device. For example, a single user canhave a business profile to access restricted company apps and a personal profileto access personal files. If more than one user profile is enrolled on the device and there is a mix of Managed and Not managed users, the Status column lists the number of each. See Device lifecycle.

  • Device state change buttons. For example, if a device is Active, you can click II to change the status to Suspended or click x to change the status to Deactivated See Device lifecycle.

 

Search for a specific device

To search for a specific device, enter the text string to look for. The search returns devices that match any of the following fields:

  • displayName

  • serialNumber

  • imei

  • meid

  • udid

  • sid

Filter by device criteria

You can filter the list of devices displayed based on the following criteria:

  • Platform to include only Android devices, Apple iOS devices, Apple macOS devices, or Windows devices.

  • Access status to include only newly created devices, active devices, suspended devices, or deactivated devices.

  • Device management to include only managed devices or not managed devices.

See Filter devices on the Devices page.

Factory resets and duplicate device records

Okta Verify for iOS stores an Okta device ID in the local keychain. If a factory reset is done, the device is restored back to its factory settings. All of the user’s data is deleted from the device, including the Okta device ID from the local keychain. If a user re-enrolls an Okta Verify device after a factory reset, a new Okta device ID is created because Okta Verify is unable to find the old Okta device ID. In these cases, the Devices page (Directory > Devices) displays two device records for the same physical device. You can delete the duplicate device record, but it doesn't cause any harm to keep the duplicated record.

Related topics