Update File Permission

Update the permission settings of a particular user for a particular file.

Options

Field Definition Type Required
Shared Drive?

Choose from Yes or No.

If Yes,

  • actions with files and folders are performed from a shared drive.

  • Owner is not shown in the Role dropdown.

If No, actions with files and folders are performed from My Drive.

Dropdown TRUE
Note

Additional Shared Drive information

When users share from Google Drive, they can control whether people can edit, comment on, or only view the file.

  • Viewer: People can view, but can’t change or share the file with others, or delete files.

  • Commenter: People can add comments and suggestions, but can’t change files, share files with others, or delete files.

  • Editor: People can make changes, accept or reject suggestions, share files with others, and version files. They can’t delete files.

File can be deleted by owner of a shared drive. Learn about how to share files from Google Drive here.

Performing operations on shared drives can cause delays if a user has multiple shared drives. Learn about shared drive file and folder limits here.

Input

Field Definition Type Required
File ID Unique ID of the file. The ID of a file can be found by navigating to the Google Drive web. Right-click on the file and select get sharable link. The File ID is the last part of that link, after id=. Example: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1avkd2a. Make sure to select the entire ID (about 20 characters long).

Alternatively, use the Search Files action card to find the file by name. See Search Files. The Search Files card has a File ID output field that can be dragged into this input field.

String TRUE
Permission ID Permission ID for the user you want to update.

To get the ID as an output other action cards, see Get File Permissions or Create Permission.

String TRUE
Role Role to which you want to set the user.
  • Owner
  • Can Edit
  • Can Comment
  • Can View
Dropdown TRUE
Remove Expiration Indicates whether or not to remove any existing expiration date associated with the permission. Boolean FALSE
Transfer Ownership Indicates whether changing a role to Owner downgrades the current owners to writers. Does nothing if the specified role is not Owner. Default is false. Boolean FALSE

Output

Field Definition Type
Permission ID Permission ID for the user. String
Display Name Display name of the user. String
Role Role associated with the user. String

Related topics

Google Drive connector

About the elements of Okta Workflows

G Suite API documentation